PROJECTS

PROJECTS

Threatened tree species conservation is at the heart of projects supported by the foundation. We adopted a species approach recognizing that species conservation is inevitably linked to habitat conservation and the protection of the interests of human population depending on them.


We provide financial support but are not interested in remaining just donors. We wish to engage with our beneficiaries and participate in strategic discussion about tree conservation around the world in order to increase our impact.

The foundation occasionally supports the production of floras such as Flora of North America, China or Vietnam/Laos/Cambodia.We also support a limited number of botanic gardens (Wespelaar, Genève, Fribourg, Aubonne, Arnold, Morton, Kew…), a few research projects, the production of tools for botanic gardens and the production of red lists.

We will continue to support strategic projects such as the assessment of all tree species (Global Tree Assessment) which enables us to better guide our actions or measure their impact. We will also continue to allocate some funding for the development of tools helping botanic gardens and those involved in tree conservation, but the foundation’s main focus now is on projects related to the conservation of tree species in their natural environment in an effort to strengthen the capacity of national and local organizations.

Our priorities are guided by several principles :

  • At least one globally threatened tree species is at the heart of the project.
  • Priority is given to concrete on-the-ground conservation action.
  • Selected projects are scientifically sound, justified and feasible; results can be obtained, the impact is measurable and sustainable; costs are reasonable.
  • Any organization with known expertise and efficiency in plant conservation can submit a project.
  • The organization submitting a project is competent and preferably based near the project site.
  • Essential partners are involved in the project in particular at local level.

 

As examples, we support the following projects :

  • The Global Tree Campaign which itself supports a number of small projects in different parts of the world.
  • Conservation and sustainable management of precious wood in Madagascar.
  • Conservation of crop wild relatives in Kyrgyzstan.
  • Conservation of the Zelkova abelicea species in Crete.
  • Conservation of magnolias of the Caribbean and Mesoamerica.
  • Conservation of palm trees and conifers of New Caledonia.
  • Conservation of threatened tree species in Cuba.

For more information on current projects please look at the interactive map below.

Examples of global projects 

Global Tree Assessment

2019 – 2021

The goal of the Global Tree Assessment (GTA) is to ensure that conservation assessments for all 60’000 known tree species are available to policy makers and conservation practitioners. Assessments will be published continuously on the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species until 2022 when a report presenting the results of the global assessments for all tree species will be published.

Global Trees Campaign

2019 – 2021

The Global Trees Campaign (GTC) project is a partnership between Botanic Gardens Conservation International (BGCI) and Fauna & Flora International (FFI) with a mission to secure the future of the world’s threatened tree species in situ, for the benefit of people and wildlife.

 

Global Tree Assessment

2019 – 2021

The goal of the Global Tree Assessment (GTA) is to ensure that conservation assessments for all 60’000 known tree species are available to policy makers and conservation practitioners. Assessments will be published continuously on the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species until 2022 when a report presenting the results of the global assessments for all tree species will be published.

Global Trees Campaign

2019 – 2021

The Global Trees Campaign (GTC) project is a partnership between Botanic Gardens Conservation International (BGCI) and Fauna & Flora International (FFI) with a mission to secure the future of the world’s threatened tree species in situ, for the benefit of people and wildlife.

 

Examples of local projects 

Zelkova project in Greece

2019 – 2021

The primary aim of this project is to enable, enhance and promote the long-term conservation of Zelkova abelicea; a relict, threatened and endangered endemic tree species of Crete (Greece) by coupling in situ and ex situ conservation actions with communication and outreach activities and other collaborative activities.

Threatened trees of Cuba

2018 – 2019

The Cuban flora includes 1,352 native trees including 468 national endemics. Many species of trees are threatened, and of the Cuban endemic plants that are already extinct, 25% are trees. Another 173 Cuban trees, 46% of all tree species assessed to date, are threatened by extinction (91 Critically Endangered, 53 Endangered and 29 Vulnerable).

Palms and conifers of New Caledonia

2019 – 2021

Noé has been implementing a conservation programme for the palms and conifers of New Caledonia since 2009. The objective of the project is to strengthen conservation activities for three threatened endemic conifers (Callitris sulcate, Araucaria luxurians and Araucaria scopulorum) and two palm trees (Kentiopsis oliviformis and Burretiokentia koghiensis).

Zelkova project in Greece

2019 – 2021

The primary aim of this project is to enable, enhance and promote the long-term conservation of Zelkova abelicea; a relict, threatened and endangered endemic tree species of Crete (Greece) by coupling in situ and ex situ conservation actions with communication and outreach activities and other collaborative activities.

Threatened trees of Cuba

2018 – 2019

The Cuban flora includes 1,352 native trees including 468 national endemics. Many species of trees are threatened, and of the Cuban endemic plants that are already extinct, 25% are trees. Another 173 Cuban trees, 46% of all tree species assessed to date, are threatened by extinction (91 Critically Endangered, 53 Endangered and 29 Vulnerable).

Palms and conifers of New Caledonia

2019 – 2021

Noé has been implementing a conservation programme for the palms and conifers of New Caledonia since 2009. The objective of the project is to strengthen conservation activities for three threatened endemic conifers (Callitris sulcate, Araucaria luxurians and Araucaria scopulorum) and two palm trees (Kentiopsis oliviformis and Burretiokentia koghiensis).

OUR INTERVENTIONS

OUR INTERVENTIONS


Some projects supported by the Franklinia Foundation

loading map - please wait...

Meise - Central African trees: -4.321710, 15.312600
Missouri - Kyrgyzstan: 42.876700, 74.607000
Missouri - Precious wood Mada: -18.910000, 47.525600
Zelkova: 38.376100, 22.082600
Cuba - Planta: 20.022400, -75.821800
Mexico: 19.432600, -99.133300
Noe - New Caledonie: -22.274100, 166.449000
Gent - Magnolia MesoAmerica: 23.138000, -82.365900

NOS PROJETS

NOS PROJETS

La conservation des espèces d’arbres menacées est l’objectif central des projets que la Fondation Franklinia soutient. Nous avons adopté une approche par espèces sachant que la conservation des espèces permet la conservation des habitats et la protection des intérêts des populations qui en dépendent.

Nous apportons un soutien financier mais ne souhaitons pas rester de simples donateurs. Nous souhaitons accompagner les organisations que nous soutenons et participer aux discussions stratégiques sur la conservation des arbres à travers le monde afin d’augmenter l’impact de nos actions.

La Fondation a financé occasionnellement la réalisation de flores telles que celles d’Amérique du Nord, de Chine ou du Vietnam / Laos / Cambodge. Elle soutient également un nombre limité de jardins botaniques (Wespelaar, Genève, Fribourg, Aubonne, Arnold, Morton, Kew…), quelques projets de recherche, la production d’outils mis à disposition des jardins botaniques ou encore la production de listes rouges.

Nous continuerons à soutenir des projets stratégiques tels que l’évaluation mondiales des arbres (Global Tree Assessment) qui permettent de mieux guider nos actions et d’en évaluer l’impact. Nous pourrons parfois financer le développement d’outils visant à aider les jardins botaniques et les acteurs de la conservation des arbres ; mais la Fondation est maintenant tournée résolument vers la conservation des arbres dans leur milieu naturel avec le souhait de renforcer les capacités des acteurs nationaux et locaux.

Nos priorités sont guidées par plusieurs principes :

  • Au moins une espèce d’arbre menacée à l’échelle mondiale est au centre du projet.
  • La priorité est donnée aux actions concrètes de préservation sur le terrain.
  • Les projets retenus sont scientifiquement valables, justifiés et faisables ; les résultats sont atteignables et l’impact mesurable et durable ; les coûts sont raisonnables.
  • Toute organisation ayant une expertise et une efficacité reconnue dans le domaine de la conservation des plantes peut soumettre un projet.
  • L’organisation porteuse du projet est compétente et, de préférence, basée près du site d’intervention.
  • Les partenaires indispensables sont impliqués notamment au niveau local.

 

Nous finançons notamment les projets suivants :

  • Campagne mondiale en faveur des arbres (Global Tree Campaign) qui elle-même soutient une multitude de petits projets dans de nombreuses parties du monde.
  • Préservation des bois précieux à Madagascar.
  • Préservation des arbres fruitiers sauvages au Kyrgyzstan.
  • Préservation des arbres de l’espèce Zelkova abelicea en Crête.
  • Conservation des magnolias des Caraïbes et de l’Amérique centrale, ainsi qu’en Chine.
  • Conservation des palmiers et conifères de Nouvelle Calédonie.
  • Conservation des arbres menacés de Cuba.

Pour plus d’information sur nos projets en cours, merci de vous reporter à la carte interactive plus bas sur cette page.

Exemples de projets globaux

Global Tree Assessment

2019 – 2021

L’objectif du projet “Global Tree Assessment” (GTA) est de faire en sorte que les décideurs et acteurs de la conservation de la nature aient accès au statut de conservation des 60’000 espèces d’arbres. Les évaluations seront publiées en continu sur la Liste rouge des espèces menacées de l’UICN jusqu’en 2002, date à laquelle un rapport de synthèse sera publié.

Global Trees Campaign

2019 – 2021

Le projet “Global Trees Campaign” vise à permettre de sauver les espèces d’arbres menacées dans leur habitat naturel. Initié en 1999, il est le résultat d’une initiative conjointe de Fauna & Flora International (FFI) et Botanic Gardens Conservation International (BGCI). Jusqu’à présent, le projet a permis de soutenir de nombreuses initiatives de conservation au profit de plus de 180 espèces d’arbres dans 29  pays à travers le monde.

Global Tree Assessment

2019 – 2021

L’objectif du projet “Global Tree Assessment” (GTA) est de faire en sorte que les décideurs et acteurs de la conservation de la nature aient accès au statut de conservation des 60’000 espèces d’arbres. Les évaluations seront publiées en continu sur la Liste rouge des espèces menacées de l’UICN jusqu’en 2002, date à laquelle un rapport de synthèse sera publié.

Global Trees Campaign

2019 – 2021

Le projet “Global Trees Campaign” vise à permettre de sauver les espèces d’arbres menacées dans leur habitat naturel. Initié en 1999, il est le résultat d’une initiative conjointe de Fauna & Flora International (FFI) et Botanic Gardens Conservation International (BGCI). Jusqu’à présent, le projet a permis de soutenir de nombreuses initiatives de conservation au profit de plus de 180 espèces d’arbres dans 29  pays à travers le monde.

Exemples de projets par pays

Projet “Zelkova abelicea” en Crête

2019 – 2021

L’objectif principal de ce projet est de permettre d’améliorer et de promouvoir la conservation à long terme de l’espèce Zelkova abelicea, une espèce d’arbre endémique et  menacée de disparition de Crète (Grèce). Pour ce faire, des actions de conservation in situ et ex situ seront associées à des activités de communication et de sensibilisation, ainsi que d’autres activités de collaboration.

Arbres menacés de Cuba

2018 – 2019

L’objectif de ce projet est de préserver et de rétablir les populations d’arbres menacés de Cuba avec la participation des communautés locales, et ce, durant toutes les étapes du projet: documentation sur l’état de conservation des arbres, identification des objectifs de rétablissement, planification des actions de rétablissement et enfin, mise en œuvre et suivi de ces mesures  jusqu’au rétablissement effectif de l’espèce menacée.

Palmiers et conifères de Nouvelle-Calédonie

2019 – 2021

Aujourd’hui, la moitié des palmiers et conifères des forêts humides et maquis minier de Nouvelle-Calédonie est menacée de disparition.
Pour répondre à cet enjeu, l’association Noé a développé depuis 2009 un programme de conservation axé sur ces espèces : le Programme « Palmiers et Conifères de Nouvelle-Calédonie » (PCNC), dont l’objectif est de sauvegarder les espèces menacées de palmiers et conifères et leurs milieux associés.

Projet “Zelkova abelicea” en Crête

2019 – 2021

L’objectif principal de ce projet est de permettre d’améliorer et de promouvoir la conservation à long terme de l’espèce Zelkova abelicea, une espèce d’arbre endémique et  menacée de disparition de Crète (Grèce). Pour ce faire, des actions de conservation in situ et ex situ seront associées à des activités de communication et de sensibilisation, ainsi que d’autres activités de collaboration.

Arbres menacés de Cuba

2018 – 2019

L’objectif de ce projet est de préserver et de rétablir les populations d’arbres menacés de Cuba avec la participation des communautés locales, et ce, durant toutes les étapes du projet: documentation sur l’état de conservation des arbres, identification des objectifs de rétablissement, planification des actions de rétablissement et enfin, mise en œuvre et suivi de ces mesures  jusqu’au rétablissement effectif de l’espèce menacée.

Palmiers et conifères de Nouvelle-Calédonie

2019 – 2021

Aujourd’hui, la moitié des palmiers et conifères des forêts humides et maquis minier de Nouvelle-Calédonie est menacée de disparition.
Pour répondre à cet enjeu, l’association Noé a développé depuis 2009 un programme de conservation axé sur ces espèces : le Programme « Palmiers et Conifères de Nouvelle-Calédonie » (PCNC), dont l’objectif est de sauvegarder les espèces menacées de palmiers et conifères et leurs milieux associés.

LIEUX DE NOS INTERVENTIONS

LIEUX DE NOS INTERVENTIONS


Quelques projets soutenus par la Fondation Franklinia

chargement de la carte - veuillez patienter...

Meise - Arbres Afrique Centrale: -4.321710, 15.312600
Missouri - Kyrgyzstan: 42.876700, 74.607000
Missouri - precious wood Mada: -18.910000, 47.525600
Zelkova: 38.376100, 22.082600
Cuba - Planta: 23.138000, -82.365900
2019-04_Inecol: 19.432600, -99.133300
Conifere_NewCaledonie: -22.274100, 166.449000
Gent - Magnolias MesoAmerica: 20.022400, -75.821800