Conservation of Moabi and Kevazingo in Cameroun and Gabon

Conservation of Moabi and Kevazingo in Cameroun and Gabon

Conservation of Moabi and Kévazingo, trees with high social value in Cameroun and Gabon

Partner: Noé – Man and Nature
Years: 2019-2021

Moabi (Baillonella toxisperma) and Kevazingo (Guibourtia Tessmanii) are sacred and mythical species for local communities and indigenous peoples who use them for medicinal and spiritual purposes. They are also highly sought-after species on the international market for their wood. Illegal logging poses a real risk to the survival of these two species.

The project aims to combat the illegal exploitation of these two species by:

1. Developing a protection status for the Moabi species in Cameroon by demonstrating that the exploitation of its seeds by local populations brings more added value to the local economy than the export of its wood.

2. Strengthening Gabonese civil society and local communities in the fight against the illegal exploitation of Kévazingo in order to ensure that the measures taken by the Gabonese government for the protection of the species are respected.

Conservation du Moabi et du Kévazingo au Cameroun et Gabon

Conservation du Moabi et du Kévazingo au Cameroun et Gabon

Moabi et Kévazingo, arbres à haute valeur sociale au Cameroun et Gabon

Partenaire: Noé – Man and Nature
Période: 2019-2021

Le Moabi (Baillonella toxisperma) et le Kévazingo (Guibourtia Tessmanii) sont des essences sacrées et mythiques pour les communautés locales et peuples autochtones qui l’utilisent à des fins médicinales et spirituelles. Mais ce sont aussi des essences très recherchées sur le marché international pour son bois. L’exploitation illégale présente un véritable risque pour la survie de ces deux espèces.

Le projet a pour objectif de lutter contre l’exploitation illégale de ces deux essences en :

1. Développant un statut de protection de l’espèce Moabi au Cameroun en démontrant que l’exploitation de ses graines par les populations locales apporte une valeur ajoutée plus importante à l’économie locale que l’exportation de son bois.

2. Renforçant la société civile gabonaise et les communautés locales à la lutte contre l’exploitation illégale du Kévazingo afin de garantir que les mesures prises par le gouvernement gabonais pour la protection de l’espèce soient respectées.