GLOBAL TREE ASSESSMENT

GLOBAL TREE ASSESSMENT

Completing the Global Tree Assessement worldwide

Organization: BGCI
2018 / 2020

The goal of the Global Tree Assessment (GTA) is to ensure that conservation assessments for all 60’000 known tree species are available to policy makers and conservation practitioners. Assessments will be published continuously on the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species until 2022 when a report presenting the results of the global assessments for all tree species will be published. In 2020, information compiled for the GTA will be incorporated into an interim high profile summary report in 2020 which will evaluate the impact of global environmental policies.
The GTA will provide critical information to guide conservation actions: which species are threatened, which ones do not benefit from any protection, which geographic areas hold the largest number and proportion of threatened trees, what are the key threats, what are required conservation actions to put in place…
To ensure a lasting legacy of the Global Tree Assessment, GlobalTreeSearch, will be expanded and enhanced to provide an online portal for tree information that will guide and monitor conservation action for all tree species. This will be complementary to the IUCN Red List and enable monitoring of in situ and ex situ conservation of threatened tree species.

GLOBAL TREE ASSESSMENT – Evaluation mondiale des arbres

GLOBAL TREE ASSESSMENT – Evaluation mondiale des arbres

Global Tree Assessment – Compléter l’évaluation mondiale des arbres

Partenaire: BGCI
2018 / 2020

L’objectif du projet “Global Tree Assessment” (GTA) est de faire en sorte que les décideurs et acteurs de la conservation de la nature aient accès au statut de conservation des 60’000 espèces d’arbres. Les évaluations seront publiées en continu sur la Liste rouge des espèces menacées de l’UICN jusqu’en 2002, date à laquelle un rapport de synthèse sera publié. En 2020, l’information déjà acquise fera l’objet d’un rapport intermédiaire et sera incorporée aux rapports d’évaluation de l’impact des politiques environnementales.

Le GTA fournira une information capitale permettant de mieux guider les actions de conservation : identification des espèces menacées, espèces ne bénéficiant d’aucune protection, zones géographiques abritant le plus grand nombre et les plus fortes proportions d’espèces menacées, nature des menaces, actions de conservation à mettre en œuvre…

Pour assurer un suivi du GTA, GlobalTreeSearch sera élargi et amélioré afin de mettre à disposition, par l’intermédiaire d’un portail internet, l’information qui permettra de guider et suivre les mesures de conservation pour toutes les espèces d’arbres connues. Ceci sera complémentaire de la Liste rouge et permettra un suivi des actions de conservation aussi bien in situ que ex situ.