Rare and endemic trees of the Osa Peninsula, Costa Rica

Rare and endemic trees of the Osa Peninsula, Costa Rica

Conserving the rare and endemic trees of the Osa Peninsula, Costa Rica

Partner: Osa Conservation
Years: 2019-2021

This project aims at funding the creation of the largest tropical arboretum in Central America. The arboretum will be located at the Osa Verde Conservation Campus on the Osa Peninsula of Costa Rica, endemic-rich and harbouring the tallest rainforest in Central America.

The goals of the project are:

1. Serve as the epicenter of conservation for threatened trees of the Osa Peninsula, including Magnolia wetteri, Paramachaerium gruberi and Inga golfodulcensis. Conservation measures include in-situ protection of Caryocar costaricense, Pleodendron costaricense and Pouteria triplarifolia, and the collection and propagation of rarities such as Anthodiscus chocoensis, Aiouea obscura and Vachellia allenii.
2. Host a robust research and monitoring program to survey existing tree populations. Carry out botanical surveys into poorly-known areas and lay the groundwork for the first native and threatened tree species propagation program in the region.
3. Build community buy-in for tree conservation by providing high-quality education opportunities for local communities, land managers and eco-tourists. The arboretum will serve as the center of outreach for restoration.

Costa Rica: Arbres endémiques de la Péninsule d’Osa

Costa Rica: Arbres endémiques de la Péninsule d’Osa

Conservation des arbres rares et endémiques de la Péninsule d’Osa au Costa Rica

Partenaire: Osa Conservation
Période: 2019-2021

Ce projet vise à financer la création du plus grand arboretum tropical d’Amérique centrale. L’arboretum sera situé sur le campus de la Conservation d’Osa Verde, dans la péninsule d’Osa au Costa Rica, riche en espèces endémiques et abritant la plus haute forêt tropicale d’Amérique centrale.

Les objectifs du projet sont les suivants :

1. Servir d’épicentre pour la conservation des arbres menacés de la péninsule d’Osa, notamment le Magnolia wetteri, le Paramachaerium gruberi et l’Inga golfodulcensis. Les mesures de conservation comprennent également la protection in situ de Caryocar costaricense, Pleodendron costaricense et Pouteria triplarifolia, ainsi que la collecte et la propagation d’espèces rares telles que Anthodiscus chocoensis, Aiouea obscura et Vachellia allenii.

2. Mettre en place un programme de recherche et de surveillance solide pour étudier les populations d’arbres existantes. Effectuer des enquêtes botaniques dans des zones mal connues et poser les bases du premier programme de propagation d’espèces d’arbres indigènes et menacées dans la région.

3. Susciter l’adhésion de la communauté à la conservation des arbres en offrant des possibilités d’éducation de qualité aux communautés locales, aux gestionnaires des terres et aux écotouristes. L’arboretum servira entre autre de centre de sensibilisation à la restauration des habitats.